How I Speed Up My PC

Guest article from Mehmet Onatli, pc expert.

A lot of my friends say that I’m possessed with methods on how I can speed up my PC.

Whether I am making some work with Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, and Adobe InDesign all of them running at the same time, or whether I am playing Gears of War while World of Warcraft in windowed mode is minimized, all of the time I want my PC to work as fast as it can. Yes, I’m a speed freak. I easily get frustrated with the slightest breath of a load time.

Therefore, I all of the time watch out for ways to make my computer faster.

Here are 5 techniques that I use to speed up my PC and to assure that it will run forever at it best performance with some small hiccups.

Technique No. 1: Download The Latest Drivers

Software you run in your computers always change. The programs sold today will not be as good to compare with the programs that will come out next week.

The first thing I do is to download the latest drivers for the Graphic card, motherboard, modem… you name it, I download it! I make certain that only the latest drivers are installed in my system.

The Second Technique: Keep Your Windows Registry Clean

Does it take ages to boot up your system? Probabilities are, your registry is mired by worthless remaining files from the programs you’ve installed, even if you have already uninstalled them.

When I want speed up my PC, I scan my system with my favorite registry cleaner for some unneeded, and sometimes bad, remaining files. You can find a very good and cheap registry cleaner online easy. And then I allow it do its job, deleting the unessential files whenever it could.

Technique No. 3: Infected By Spyware And/Or Adware maybe?

Sometimes the cause of slow boot up time can be caused by spyware and/or adware in your system. Spyware and adware are forms of malware that sneakily discover their way into your PC, oftentimes through and through the sites you visit or the email attachments you open.

Whenever I’m infected by spyware and/or adware, I open my trusted spyware remover.

Technique No. 4: Scan For Viruses And Kill Them

Viruses may also be the cause to a slow PC, the most popular of which are Trojans.
There is only one way to determine the existence of a virus in your system, that is, by running a complete diagnostic scan using an anti-virus software.

Technique No. 5: Defragment Regularly

One of the really under-appreciated features of a Windows-based PC is the Disk Defragmenter. Essentially, the Disk Defragmenter will get rid of un-needed and excess files in your full system, not only your registry.

I swear to God, defragmenting your disk is THE best way to speed up my PC. Defragmenting could take a few hours or more, but at the end it is worth it
To access the Disk Defragmenter, go to START, then ALL PROGRAMS, then ACCESSORIES, then SYSTEM TOOLS, and voila!

2 Responses to “How I Speed Up My PC”

  1. Best Registry Cleaner Says:

    I agree with updating drivers before running a registry cleaner (I messed up my PC once)

    There’s even free utilities available that search and locate updated drivers, saving you the trouble of hunting them down;

    eg. http://www.downloaddriverupdate.com

  2. Michael Says:

    One easy way to speed up your computer is to buy a Mac! hehe
    Just teasing…

    I enjoyed your article..Helped me solve a few minor problems I was facing on a friends computer I was trying to sped up!

Leave a comment